Bookmark Us | Contact Us
Planetary Hours -

The planetary hours are an ancient system in which one of the seven traditional naked eye planets is given rulership over each day and various parts of the day. Monday is always the Day of the Moon. Tuesday is the day of Mars, Wednesday is ruled by Mercury, Thursday is Jupiter's day, Friday is the day of Venus, Saturday is the day of Saturn, and Sunday is the day of the Sun.

Each planetary day begins at sunrise, and ends at the next day's sunrise. For example, Sunrise on Saturday is the beginning of the day of Saturn. Before sunrise on Saturday, you are still under the day of Venus.

The day is divided into two parts; the day (time between sunrise and sunset) and the night (time between sunset and tomorrow's sunrise). Each part of the day is then divided into 12 equal parts, for a total of 24 (unequal) hours[1]. The further the location is from the equator; and the closer the date is to the solstices (as opposed to the equinoxes); the greater the difference in length between the length of the planetary hours and the clock hours.

The first planetary hour of the day is always the same as the planetary day; so sunrise on Monday is the beginning of both the day of the Moon and the hour of the Moon. The hours repeat infinitely in this order: Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Sun, Venus, Mercury, Moon. So the second planetary hour of the day of the Moon is the hour of Saturn, the third would be the hour of Jupiter, and so on.

The planetary hours have traditionally been used in electing favorable times to initiate activities, and also to time prayers, spells, and magical rituals.

» Find The Hidden Energies of Every Hour

Horoscope Home | Free Horoscopes | Celebrity Horoscopes | Current Planets | Join Now